National Academy of Future Physicians and Medical Scientists Announces Nobel Prize Winner as Science Director

The National Academy of Future Physicians and Medical Scientists today announced Nobel Prize winner Dr. Mario R. Capecchi as its new Science Director.

Dr. Capecchi, a biophysicist, won the 2007 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for his work in finding ways to manipulate the mammalian genome by inserting new genes into cells. This research led to the breeding of “knock-out mice” and “knock-in mice,” animals with a single gene removed or inserted.

Today Dr. Capecchi is a distinguished professor of human genetics at the University of Utah School of Medicine. His research interests include the molecular genetic analysis of early mouse development, neural development in mammals, the production of murine models of human genetic diseases, gene therapy, homologous recombination and programmed genomic rearrangements in mice. Dr. Capecchi has also received many awards and honors including the National Medal of Science (2001), the Lasker Award (2001), and the Wolf Prize in Medicine (2003).

The National Academy of Future Physicians and Medical Scientists was founded on the belief that prospective medical talent must be identified at the earliest possible age and that these students need assistance to acquire the necessary experience and skills to take them to the doorstep of this vital career. Based in Washington, DC and with an office in Boston, Massachusetts, the Academy was chartered as a nonpartisan, taxpaying institution to help address this crisis by working to identify, encourage and mentor students who wish to devote their lives to the service of humanity as physicians and medical scientists.

For more information visit or call 617-307-7425.

Tell us what you think: